Breath of God

I hope you’re all getting stuck into the brand new Gorilla Perfume range. It’s been a few months since we launched and we’ve been busy.

The successful London gallery made its debut New York appearance last month with yours truly answering questions, and even guide a few choice perfumistas around. It was great fun and every bit as successful as our grand Shoreditch entrance in July. Next up, Mr. Big will be opening the Tokyo gallery as we launch Gorilla perfume in Japan this Christmas.

Meanwhile, to keep all you loyal British fans happy, we are pleased to announce my wonderful five-star (yes, five-star!) fragrance, Breath of God, is now available in store. It’s returning by popular demand under the Gorilla banner after we lost it when ‘B’ closed its doors. For those who haven’t heard of it before, I first developed the idea of Breath of God when reading up on pheromones. I discovered that many attractive scents actually contain pheromones similar to our own. For example, the composition of incense materials are actually similar to that of human breath. So, when incense is burning in a church, temple or wherever else, it’s like a sweet, ethereal breath flowing through the congregation. I found this fascinating and on my subsequent travels through China and Tibet, I was inspired by the heavy use of incense. From yak butter candles and sandalwood incense in the temples to the juniper branches burned on the hillsides.

When I returned from travelling, I began making two fragrances. One was rich in wood-smoke, heavy with amber and sandalwood inside the temples. The other fresh, clean like the air whistling across the nomadic grasslands. When both of these fragrances were finished, I realized that the first was heavily masculine, woody and resinous; the other took crisp cucumber notes mixed with neroli and bergamot and was altogether more feminine. I decided to chance mixing the two to see if they blended and the result was Breath of God, a balance of masculine and feminine.

A short while after it was released, Breath of God received a wonderful review in Perfumes: The Guide of which I was very proud hence the 5 stars!

I hope you all enjoy,

Simon C – One half of the Gorilla perfumers

6 thoughts on “Breath of God

  1. I love the scent. A friend of mine was wearing it and every time it was in the air I felt relaxed, balanced and wanted a bite of his arm 🙂

  2. I just picked up Breath of God today (I am having mad affairs with Lust, Imogen Rose and Tuca Tuca). In the one hour I have had it on, four co-workers (out of the 8 in the office today) have come into my office and said “What is that heavenly smell” (NO KIDDING!). Of course I told them and they didn’t believe that it was perfume and not some kind of spiritual or aphrodisiac incense. Two of the men said they are buying this today for their significant others . . .but as always, I warn them that what it smells like on me isn’t the same for everyone. I hope they like it as much. THANK YOU for creating Breath of God! It is the most original, mysterious and intriguing scent that you can buy today.

  3. I bought BoG as christmas present for my man. He is mad, truly in love with this perfume (and make me mad!), wich is subtile, sensual and… waow (sorry for my bad english). I think he as found is new perfume… with The Smell of Weather Turning (also another christmas present)!!!
    Thank you for this, Simon and Mark!

Leave a Reply

