Collage Competition

So new competition. Photo collage! Yay! I wanted to introduce one of our judges, no stranger to a collage herself. Soph recently joined Gorilla, helping out with our tour: you can see her in this video, setting up perfume with Cassie. Soph knows a thing about tours; she’s in a band and she helps manage a band. However, it’s not tours I want to talk about. I want to talk about COLLAGES. When Soph says, “I love collages” she states it, not in an over-gregarious use of the word “love”; she earnestly means it. Soph is a connoisseur of the collage- and I say that so that this competition is not taken lightly by any means. Soph would never say so herself, I’m sure, so I just wanted this addressed, so that you’re properly advised, about the collage contest, that it’s a deadly serious collage contest.

The band Soph is in, The Veils, were once photographed by Rankin. Soph was given the task to somehow destroy said portrait. She wrote a blog on the process here. She calls her collaging merely “Cutting and Sticking”. I think the image speaks for itself. (Buscemi!)

I just wanted to make you aware of the stakes here. Keep those photo collages coming!

Leave a Reply

